skip navigation

Varsity Tennis Gets Decisive Wins Over Northbrook and Spring Woods

By Lisa Thielemann, 09/18/23, 2:00PM CDT


Congratulations to Paloma Nitcholas for coming in 2nd place in the USTA Tournament this weekend!

Abigail Clark, Maxwell McKee, Ryan McDowell, Christian Nafziger,  and Liam Collins played the MWCC Tournament too!

With back to back matches this week, Varsity Stratford Tennis picked up two District wins. On Monday, Stratford traveled across I-10 to Northbrook, beating a game Raiders squad 17-2. The following day, the team stayed home, beating Spring Woods 19-0.

For those counting, dual meets consist of 19 total matches:

  • 3 Girls Doubles Matches
  • 3 Boys Doubles Matches
  • 1 Mixed Doubles Match
  • 6 Girls Singles Matches
  • 6 Boys Singles Matches

vs. Northbrook (Win: 17-2)

It was another strong team performance reflective of deep benches in both locker rooms. This time, freshman Brianna Johnson and Alice Jiang got the call to play Line 1, winning in straight sets. At Line 2, Katherine Perkins teamed with Caroline Heinecke to get the win without dropping a single game.

On the boys' side, star freshman Liam Collins and teammate Emerson Hamlin did the same in a straight-set win. Luka Silberman and Christian Nafziger also picked up straight-set wins. Team Captains Anna Sanchez and Nico Boza continued their winning ways, while special recognition goes out to Hayden Arzymanow and Harrison Brooks for picking up their first Varsity doubles win!

Stratford girls won on all 6 singles matches, while the boys delivered on 4 of 6. Notable singles wins were notched by Hailey Schifano, Ana Salmain, and Sophia Kang. Special shout-out to Harrison Brooks who got his first Varsity singles win in addition to a doubles victory.

vs. Spring Woods (Win: 19-0)

Although not reflected in the score, Spring Woods garnered strong Spartan respect as they played with great heart, effort, and sportsmanship. But it wouldn’t be enough as team Sparty was just too strong for the upstart Spring Woods team.

Doubles Teams (all winners):

Alice Jiang and Brianna Johnson
Nico Boza and Liam Collins

Ruthie Egger and June Lim
Kyle and Preston Chen

Caroline Heinecke and Katherine Perkins
Harrison Brooks and Hayden Arzymanow

Hailey Schifano and Emerson Hamlin

Singles winners also include Ana Salmain, Sophia Kang, Paloma Nitcholas, Luke Wright, Christian Nafziger, and Tyler Willard.

The experienced gained will be important in the upcoming weeks as the Spartans take on the tougher challenges presented by Cy Ridge and Tompkins. You’ll want to mark Tuesday, September 26 on your calendar as the Spartans host perennial State contender and District rival Memorial High School.